2007 ASC Awards

  Hilton Americas Houston
November 2-6, 2007
Houston, Texas






Congratulations are extended to the following awardees:

Papanicolaou Award:

The Papanicolaou Award, established in 1958, is the highest award given by the Society and is presented annually to a physician or Ph.D. member who has been nominated by an ASC member.  Recipients are in recognition of meritorious contributions in the field of cytology. 

Diane D. Davey, M.D.

Basic Science Lecture Award:

Established in 1967, the Basic Science Lecture Award is presented to a well-known basic scientist or physician.  The recipient, chosen by the Scientific Program Committee each year, presents the Basic Science Lecture during the ASC Annual Scientific Meeting.

Leroy Hood, M.D., Ph.D. 

Cytotechnologists Award for Outstanding Achievement:

The Cytotechnologist Award for Outstanding Achievement, established in 1969, is presented annually to an ASC Cytotechnologist member nominated by an ASC member.  Selection of recipients is in recognition of meritorious service or accomplishments to the field of cytology. 

 Karen A. Allen, SCT(ASCP)

Excellence in Education Award:

This Award was established in 1998 and is presented annually to a cytotechnologist or physician member nominated by an ASC member.  The Award is in recognition of meritorious service or accomplishments in the field of cytopathology education to include the education of cytotechnologists, pathology residents and/or cytopathology fellows.

 Jill L. Caudill, M.Ed., SCT(ASCP)

President’s Award:

The President’s Award was established in 1992 and is presented annually.  Selection of the recipient is at the discretion of the current ASC President, and can be awarded to more than one individual. 


Martha B. Pitman, M.D. and Donna K. Russell, M.S., CT(ASCP)HT 

Warren R. Lang, M.D. Resident Physician Award:

This Award is presented to the resident or fellow in an approved training program who submits the best scientific paper in cytology for either a platform or a poster session. 

Ibrahim Mansoor, M.D.
Poster 74: Fine Needle Aspiration of Follicular Adenoma Verses Parathyroid Adenoma:  Utility of Multispectral Imaging in Differentiating Lesions with Subtle Cytomorphological Differences.

Cytotechnologist Scientific Presentation Award:

This Award is presented to the cytotechnologist or cytotechnology student who presents the best scientific paper in cytology for either a platform or poster session.

Margaret Honig, M.S., CT(ASCP)
Poster 42: Utility of Monoclonal Antibody MOC-31 as an Immunomarker for Detecting Metastatic Adenocarcinoma in Effusion Cytology – A Study of 215 Cases.

Geno Saccomanno, M.D. New Frontiers in Cytology Award:

This Award is given to the author of the scientific paper that best describes new methods, or modifications of existing methods, for characterizing or measuring cells or their components. 

Bin Yang, M.D., Ph.D.
Platform 7: Aberrant Methylations of Tissue Factor Pathway inhibitor-2 is a Biomarker for HSIL and Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Cervix.

ASC Foundation Cytotechnologist Scholarship:

This scholarship was established in 2004 to stimulate an interest in continuing education in the field of cytopathology, provide a venue for cytotechnologists to meet and interact with fellow cytotechnologists and cytopathologists, and foster the spirit of volunteerism within the American Society of Cytopathology. 

Nicholas Hoover, CT(ASCP)

Joshua Jeanty, CT(ASCP)

Danling Jin, CT(ASCP)

Teresa Kologinczak, CT(ASCP)

Shellie P. Vadnais, CT(ASCP)

ASC Foundation Patient Advocacy Grant:

This grant is awarded to a qualified, ongoing or new project for advocacy efforts for patients with cervical and other gynecological cancers. 

Bernadette G. Reyna-Asuncion, M.D.
The Cytopathology Medical Mission
at the Philippines Heart Center in Quezon, Philippines