ASC Logo_2014_A

Geraldine Colby Zeiler Awards for Students of Cytotechnology

These awards have been established in memory of the late Geraldine Colby Zeiler, who passed away in 1990. Mrs. Zeiler trained as a cytotechnologist at the Mayo Clinic. The generosity of Dr. William B. Zeiler, and family and friends of the late Mrs. Zeiler have made these awards possible. The awards are funded through the College of American Pathologists Foundation and administered by the American Society of Cytopathology (ASC). Up to five awards, each consisting of a certificate and $1,000 are available for this year’s award.

The purpose of the awards is to stimulate and reward high achievement by cytotechnology students during their training. Awards are based on academic performance and microscopic diagnostic skills as demonstrated within the program, as well as, leadership ability, initiative, acceptance of responsibility, dedication, and collegiality.

To be eligible for an award:

  • The student must be enrolled in an accredited Program of Cytotechnology approved by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) through the Cytotechnology Programs Review Committee (CPRC).
  • Candidates for this award must have completed their fist six months of training in the approved program, and at the time of application, must have every intention of completing the program.
Fill out my online form.